Poetry Here (Mostly)

Christmas Doings #247


I filled my spirit, because it felt thin,

with a big buffet of Christmas films.

Most were corny, sentimental features

filled with new love, kids, and furry creatures.

 

Pleasant to view TV celebrations,

but we had not put up decorations.

Seemed quite an effort to install a tree,

with family away, there’s just him and me.

 

Days jingled closer to the twenty-fifth,

still was indifferent to jolly old myths.

But, Jim brought in boxes from the garage,

soon the tree stood where it would lodge.

 

If that’s what he wants, I thought with a sigh,

I’d follow and give the season a try.

Out came ornaments from many a year,

some made me smile, others conjured up tears.

 

The tree filled with an unthemed selection,

positively glowed Christmas reflections.

More than one way to celebrate the hype,

dinner for friends, and with family we’ll Skype.

Comments on: "Christmas Doings #247" (2)

  1. skype ok when ? nice poem…happy jim made an effort…

  2. Love the poem. I too wavered about getting the Christmas decorations out and up but decided my place would look better with them out for this season; some made me feel happy but some made me tear up too, remembering past Christmases of my youth. Love the last line – I’ll be there with you in spirit. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

